Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Colleen tutors in Denver, CO

Colleen L.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

- CELTA (Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) through Cambridge University-accredited BridgeTEFL, Denver, Colorado, June 2017 - Innovative Marketing Certificate, Center for Professional Development and Business Research, Colorado State University (May 2011) - B.A. Liberal Arts, Colorado State University, May 1997 (concentrations in journalism, public relations, stage acting and directing, and English composition and literature)

Experience

- 3.5 years' experience teaching English as a foreign language in Japan to students aged 4 years to adult. - The CELTA has the Cambridge University seal of excellence: * 140 contact hours with course instructors, including input, supervised lesson planning, feedback on teaching, peer observation, and consultation time * 6 hours of teaching practice with students from all over the world, assessed by course instructors - 16 years' work experience in Corporate America, including news reporting, marketing communications, public relations, medical and technical writing and editing, content and advertising writing, web design and development, and social media marketing in law, higher education, medical, and publishing fields. How does all this come together to work for you? With my background, I can help you or your child(ren) with daily English communication and American culture, as well as with English grammar comprehension, business English, ILETS and TOEFL test prep, and general writing and editing for writing assignments, essays, resumes and cover letters, and other writing as needed. I spent 3.5 years living and teaching English as a foreign language to all ages abroad in Japan, which I believe expanded my cultural sensitivity and awareness, and gave me the experience I need to work with you to meet your English goals. My approach is friendly, open, and patient, and I'll plan sessions together with you that will suit your needs. I'm originally from Colorado Springs, Colorado, lived and worked in Denver from 1997, and then spent 2013-17 in Fukushima and Tokushima, Japan.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays after 10AM, Saturday in the afternoon, Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Of course, I love travel and expanding my world view and learning from other cultures. I'm also an avid reader -- my favorite genre is historical fiction. Writing has been a life-long passion. And I love to enjoy whatever Denver and Colorado at large has to offer: cultural events, theater, film, festivals, hiking, biking, etc. I look forward to meeting you!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!