Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Adam tutors in Denver, CO

Adam F.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

PhD University of Denver, English, 2017-expected MFA California College of the Arts, Creative Writing, 2011 BA Hampshire College, English, 2002

Experience

Hi, I'm Adam! I love to create a supportive environment in which my students can learn and thrive. It's my great pleasure to help them with every kind of writing--academic, personal, creative, college admissions--as well as any English-related work. I'm a published author of nonfiction, essays, academic prose, and poetry. Currently, I tutor in the Writing Center at the Colorado School of Mines, helping a broad range of students with literary and expository essays and a variety of technical writing. I have worked extensively with both native speakers and ELL students. My teaching experience is as follows: • Over seven years tutoring in one-on-one sessions with students on essays, including one year at Colorado School of Mines, two years at DU's Writing Center, and two at California College of the Arts • Taught College Admissions Essay Writing Workshops with Academic Study Associates at the University of California-Berkeley • Taught Writing at the University of Denver I currently teach at Lighthouse Writers Workshop, as well, a truly amazing place for creative writers of all kinds. Here I run classes on nonfiction and poetry. Writing is my passion, and I love to help others improve, bringing out their talents and ambition. My sessions are centered on the student's needs. Each person, I believe, has his or her own path to improvement. I respect this process, the student's unique intelligence and abilities, utilizing his or her strengths to create exemplary work. In my spare time, I read and write, play guitar, listen to music, and enjoy Colorado's beautiful landscape.

Availability

Wednesday after 1PM, Weekends after 12 Noon, Thursday after 1PM, Monday after 1PM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love museums, art galleries, and playing guitar. I like to attend readings and lectures and spend time in the great Colorado outdoors.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!