Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Nora tutors in Denver, CO

Nora K.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

I graduated from Wake Forest University in North Carolina with a 4.8 GPA (magna cum laude) in May 2015 with a BA in Religious Studies and French. My senior year I was inducted to Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, and Theta Alpha Kappa Religious Studies Honor Society. I received the highest award for religious studies majors. I have a strong background in essay writing for literature courses, as well as general essay writing that would be applicable to the SAT, because I started my undergraduate career as an English major before switching to Religion and French.

Experience

I have experience working as a tutor through two separate offices at Wake Forest University: The Learning Assistance Center and the Student Athletic Center. For the Learning Assistance Center I completed a tutor training that instructed me how to gear tutoring techniques to a students specific learning style, and I learned different study habits and practices that are best for different types of learners. I tutored students in Introductory French for two years with the Learning Assistance Center. I tutored student athletes in religious studies courses, specifically world religions and Christianity in America, for one year with the Student Athletic Center. I developed study habits and skills with student athletes, and I worked with them on tips for taking exams. I am currently living in New York City (moving to Denver at the beginning of January), where I work as a Test Proctor through Columbia University's Disability Services Office. As a Proctor I administer, monitor, and scan/deliver exams for Columbia undergraduate students with mental or physical disabilities. I am also responsible for addressing any issues that arise during an exam (i.e. testing anxiety attack, exam question), and I serve as the liaison between students and the case workers in the Disability Services office. SAT: 13,500 ACT: 29 I want to become a tutor because I have enjoyed the role in the past and I want to continue doing something I enjoy. I am generally attracted to service-oriented careers and because one of my potential career paths is working as a counselor/therapist in middle schools/high schools.

Availability

Any day after 10AM

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love nature and being outdoors, I LOVE dogs and all animals. I play guitar and I get along great with children. I have direct experience working with children as a summer camp counselor for girls age 6-13, and I work well with high school students because I have served in various mentor roles such as Resident Adviser and Student Adviser. I am responsible and punctual. I am easygoing yet very organized. I plan to pursue a MA in non-profit management or counseling. I was highly involved in extracurriculars as an undergraduate student so I am well accustomed to working on a flexible schedule. I have a reliable car so transportation to a tutoring session would not be of issue. I maintain a high level of professionalism but I know how to be approachable. I have training in inter-cultural competency and navigating diversity, and I am committed to fostering an inclusive environment wherever I go.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!