Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Emily tutors in Denver, CO

Emily B.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

4Emily B.

3 reviews

Education

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus - Bachelors, Political Science , University of Colorado Denver - Current Grad Student, Public Health

Experience

I use a collaborative approach in order to help the students who I tutor to enjoy the learning process. I am process-driven more than I am answer-driven because the process is where true learning and comprehension takes place. My goal is to help students to grow into independent thinkers and learners, and I seek to accomplish this goal by using real life examples to shed light on abstract concepts.Tutoring and mentoring have been among my passions for as long as I can remember. While an undergraduate student studying at the University of Pittsburgh, I had the opportunity to tutor a refugee family. Specifically, I helped the two youngest females in the family with math and literacy, and I assisted the high school-aged children in the family with English and math. Post-graduation, I re-located to Denver in 2012 and helped with a City Year program affiliated with AmeriCorps. This opportunity is where I really came to see my love of instructing and finding out-of-the-box ways to engage students. I worked with low-performing high schoolers, as I was tasked with helping them to improve their grades in English and algebra. I'm also close to being fluent in the French language, having spent 24 months in France. After City Year, I went on to teach English at both middle school and high school in Eastern France. And while living in the European nation, I tutored business people in English.At present, I'm attending the University of Colorado as I study towards my public health M.A. degree. I previously earned an undergraduate degree in political science, which came with a minor in French.In my spare time, I enjoy hiking, learning languages, running, snowboarding, and biking.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Hiking, running, biking, snowboarding, languages

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!