Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
John tutors in Denver, CO

John O.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

- Master of Arts (MA) in the Teaching of English, Columbia University's Teachers College, 2010 - Bachelor of Arts (BA) in English Literature from the University of Missouri - Columbia, 2005 - Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Spanish Literature from the University of Missouri - Columbia 2005 - State of Colorado Initial Teacher Certification in English, Grades 7-12, October 2012

Experience

Driven by my love for reading and writing, I've worked extensively as a teacher and a tutor in both the US and abroad. I've taught students of all age groups, from pre-schoolers to retirees and everyone in between. My students have generally come from a variety of cultural backgrounds, a fact that I try to respect by creating an inclusive environment during my tutoring sessions. When it comes to test prep, I know what I'm doing. My ACT composite score of 31 made me a Missouri Bright Flight Scholar from 2001 to 2005. My 2007 GRE Analytical Writing score of 6 was the highest score possible. As a test prep tutor, I make sure my students have access to the same tools and techniques that I used to ace standardized exams. My track record as an educator testifies to the wide range of subjects I've studied in the realm of English language and literature. I've received a variety of awards for my teaching, including being named a Teacher of Tomorrow for the 2013-2014 academic year. Because I put the student first, I make sure to bring the full weight of my experience and education into every tutoring session so that students receive the maximum benefit during their time with me.

Availability

Any day after 9AM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I enjoy getting outdoors as much as possible, hiking during the summer and skiing during the winter. Spending time with my family is important to me, as well as going to the park with friends. But my main interests in life are literary. I love reading and writing, and I get a lot of satisfaction from sharing this passion with others.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!