Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Javon tutors in Denver, CO

Javon B.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

Xavier University - BA, English (2014) Iliff School of Theology - MA, SJE (In Progress)

Experience

I am a native of New Orleans, LA. I graduated from Xavier University of Louisiana in 2014. I earned a degree in English (with honors). I minored in Political Science and received additional honors in Theology. I am relocating to Denver to pursue a Masters in Social Justice in Ethics at Iliff School of Theology I began tutoring in high school through the National Honor Society. I tutored students at my school in subjects that I had taken previously. I continued tutoring in college through the Reading Resource Center (RRC). The primary focus of tutoring in the RRC was to assist with the first year English remediation of students, specifically in the areas of comprehension, vocabulary, and deciphering other textual elements. I also assisted my peers with similar reading skills in a variety of classes from science to history. Upon graduation, I served as a City Year AmeriCorps Member at a high school in New Orleans. On a daily basis I worked with students, remediating and providing interventions in the areas of ELA and math. I have worked in various capacities of education - non profits, enrichment programs, work force development, higher education. Experience and certification are important parts of being an educator, but I have come to understand that building strong relationships with students is also important. Consistency and trust are essential elements in teaching and learning.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Outside of academia, my favorite hobby is poetry. I not only write but also perform. I also enjoy spending time with family, attending sports events, reading books, traveling, and trying new foods.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!