Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alissa tutors in Denver, CO

Alissa S.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Alissa S.555

55 reviews

Education

Pepperdine University - Bachelors of Arts, Creative Writing , University of Chicago - Masters of Humanities, Philosophy of Language and Ethics

Experience

Education can change the future course of any student. I truly believe even the student with the most needs and struggles can hold this key to changing their life. I have been all around the world in my desire to help students such as these. I've worked directly with kindergarten students as an assistant. I've been a private tutor. I've been a Visiting Professor of English Language at Pamukkale University in Turkey as a Fulbright scholar. I've taught preschool in Chicago. Right now I train those who have given a year to tutor, provide after-school programming, or assist in classes in communities with public schools that are in desperate need of help and resources. I have also earned a Certificate in Publishing, and I am a published author who has penned poems, children's books, and curriculum resources for elementary through university students. That curriculum focused on English Language Arts, early literacy, and test prep. I'm also working on obtaining my TEFOL/TESL certification to teach ESL. I don't believe constant worksheets or forced memory work is what helps a student succeed. With each student I tutor, I work with them on their thinking process, and this process also needs to be fun for them. Besides focusing on helping students succeed, I work and race performance cars, bake (especially cupcakes), go snowboarding, and spend time with friends and family. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

20 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Building and drag racing performance cars, snowboarding, baking, and spending quality time with family and friends

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!