Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jill tutors in Denver, CO

Jill P.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), 2005: B.S. Materials Science and Engineering, Cum Laude, Honors Program completed, minors in Mathematics & Chemistry University of Nevada, Reno (UNR), 2007: M.S. Geophysics

Experience

I've tutored math, chemistry and physics for engineers for over 15 years and I love it. It keeps my skills fresh and allows me to make difficult subjects "click" with students. That is my absolute favorite: when a student stops, looks at me and says, "That's it? It's that easy?!", and my response gets to be, "Yep, that's it!" Absolutely.The.Best. I've taught at the university level (at both for-profit colleges and community colleges), and taught a 5th grade science course for 12-weeks, which was a blast! I enjoy working with students of all ages (even adult learners) as long as they are willing to give these difficult topics a chance. I've worked with special needs students, as well as ADHD, ADD and dyslexic students (I'm both dyslexic and ambidextrous - which makes things fun!) I currently work in the oil & gas, mining, energy and utilities fields - doing drafting, G.I.S. and mineral title work. In college, I completed two 10-week internships with NASA at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, and also was on the MER (Mars Exploration Rover) team (remember Spirit and Opportunity?).

Availability

Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I very much like to read. I ask all my friends/colleagues/relatives what their favorite books are, then read them. It's a great way to learn about the people around you, and I've found some really great books! I enjoy running and walking with my dog and neighbors. Since I work from home, 3 neighbors and I have created a "walk club" and we walk everyday at lunch. I've completed 5 half-marathons, and have my 6th scheduled for this September - I would like to complete a full marathon some day, but holy-moly doubling that half-marathon seems just crazy :)

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!