Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Sondra tutors in Denver, CO

Sondra T.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

Master's in Curriculum and Instruction with a focus on literacy at University of Colorado, Boulder; Certified by the state of Colorado as an Elementary Teacher, Reading Teacher (K-12), and Linguistically Diverse Educator (K-12); Trained in the Yoshimoto Orton Gillingham for Dyslexia remediation; TESL Certification (Teach English as a Second Language) for adults

Experience

Nearly eight years ago, I started an educational services business (Read. Write. Speak., LLC) and have maintained a busy after-school schedule. I love working with individuals and small groups. Presently I work also work part time during school hours with small groups of kids in grades 3, 4, 5, and kindergarten. My most recent training and studies has been centered around people who are diagnosed, or who exhibit signs of dyslexia. Because the diagnosis is expensive, and because it can be genetic, many people spend their lives struggling with reading and writing. Some students have difficulty with focus and behavior and in these cases, my hope is to work with the parents as a team to modify and/or create more positive behaviors and reactions. Finally, helping people learn and grow, especially struggling learners in reading and writing, and helping adults learn English are my passions. I have high expectations for students and work in an environment of mutual respect.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Saturday in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love to be outside, riding my bike and hiking and I almost always have some art or craft projects in process. I am also a musician. My primary instrument is the bass guitar but I also work at the cello. Growing up learning piano is my basis for this learning. I am an avid reader and am always interested in learning about new developments in how people learn to read and write, and in English language acquisition, especially with regard to pronunciation. I am fascinated by the concept of creating muscle memory in the muscles of the brain and body to help kids and adults acquire new skills and information. I have made memories in 48 states.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!