Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Stephanie tutors in Denver, CO

Stephanie A.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Education

I am a undergrad alum of University of Massachusetts Amherst with a degree in English and Psychology. I graduated in May 2013. I also have a minor in French, and so I can help with tutoring in French, as well. I also wrote for the Daily Collegian, which is the newspaper for the school. In addition to that, I worked with several organization, including the World School project, which worked to help raise money for schools in industrializing countries.

Experience

I am an undergraduate student of UMass Amherst with degrees in English and Psychology. However, my other passion includes working with and teaching young people. At 19, I started working with Americorps, which is a domestic service program that does service in different sectors of need. I worked in education with the Jumpstart program, as a classroom assistant at a daycare, teaching kiddos from ages 2-5 phonetics, vocabulary, and basic writing skills. After University, I moved to Baton Rouge, Louisiana to work with another Jumpstart program, City Year. This is an education program which works with schools on the verge of being taken over by the states, and works with the kiddos as in class tutors and mentors to help them focus on their academics and behavior in a way that's empowering and uplifting for them. Working with my team, I managed to raise the 8th grade academic math scores 10% for the year, which is a huge accomplishment. I wrote and implemented daily lesson plans which were tailored towards the learning needs of the 16 young people with whom I was assigned to work. I worked with young people who had IEPs and 504s, and took careful attention to each student's needs. I love to tutor because I love to watch the light go off in a student's head when they start to understand an idea, and see the student gain confidence in their skills. Specifically for my math qualification, I tutored 8th grade math - specifically Algebra- with City Year in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, creating daily lesson plans addressing the needs of each individual student. I also created bi-weekly lesson math plans for the after-school tutoring and enrichment program our team hosted. I would be so excited to be a part of helping you gain confidence in your learning whichever subject is tricky for you. I love to recognize and teach to different people's learning styles, and I am looking forward to helping you make use of yours. Please reach out to me for any of your needs, and I would be more than happy to schedule lessons with you, and work together to help you reach your potential.

Availability

Tues/Thurs after 4PM, Weekends after 9AM, Wednesday after 9AM, Monday after 4PM, Friday after 4PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my free time, I love to red, practice guitar, learn computer programming languages. I also like to sing and write my own song lyrics, and have been looking into learning how to better write music and song lyrics. When I have time, I go and join the church choir for practice, so I can work on my singing and harmonizing. I love all kinds of art, and love to immerse myself in the creating and learning process.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!