Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Janki tutors in Denver, CO

Janki P.

Private tutor in Denver, CO

Janki P.53

3 reviews

Education

Profile updated: 11/1/18 Currently a doctorate of physical therapy student at Regis University, Class of 2020 B.S. in Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior from University of California, Davis from 2008-2011 Coursework taken at community colleges to advance my career goals. Colleges include Merritt College, Laney College, Foothill College, DeAnza College, and Skyline College

Experience

Recent coursework: General Chemistry, Statistics, Exercise Physiology, Public Speaking, Medical Terminology, Sports Nutrition, Sports Psychology, and Sports in Society (to advance my career goals) Previous experience: 1) University of California, Davis College of Biological Sciences Tutor (April 2010-June 2011) - tutored 10-15 undergraduate college students in Introductory Biology on a weekly basis - created exam-type problems, answered any student questions on course material, and provided additional resources for understanding course material; overall, helped students understand the material from different and simpler points of view 2) Independent Private Tutor (September 2011-Present) - private one-on-one and two-on-one tutor - create written and visual study aides such as worksheets, quizzes, diagrams, and graphics as well as present videos to cater to individual learners - break down study material and lecture students on it; ensure students can lecture back to show understanding - help with finding effective study methods and organization skills to fit the student's study habits - ensure parents can track their student's progress 3) Bay Area Writing Project - Teaching Assistant for Young Writers' Camp (June-August 2006) - assisted instructor in teaching writing to about 15 sixth to seventh grade students; reviewed their writing work and helped with spelling, grammar, sentence structure, etc. - created weekly parent newsletter on student activities and progress 4) Ardenwood Elementary School - Afterschool Math Tutor (February 2005-June 2006) - tutored groups of and individuals in sixth grade students in basic mathematics in an afterschool tutoring program - helped students with the different math problems assigned by their teacher SAT Math Score: 700, SAT Math Subject Test Score: 720 AP Biology Score: 5 AP U.S. History Score: 4 Relevant Coursework I Have Taken (but do not necessarily tutor in): Biology, Biochemistry (Structure and Function of Biomolecules, Cell Function Regulation, Bioenergetics and Metabolism, Genes and Gene Expression), Systemic Physiology, Reproductive Physiology, Gastrointestinal Physiology, Calculus, General Psychology, Writing in Science, Introduction to Literature, Abnormal Psychology, Kinesiology, Microbiology, Human Anatomy Why do I want to be a tutor? It's simple! I love to teach! It's truly rewarding to help students improve their understanding of academic subjects and expand their knowledge. Studying should not be a burden for students, but rather a great opportunity to learn something new and embrace it. I want to help students of all ages become stronger, spark their curiosity, and give them the boost they need to excel. Please feel free to e-mail me with any questions or concerns regarding subject matters, details on availability, pricing, etc. and I will reply back in a timely manner. Feel free to also ask if I tutor in a subject not listed, such as kinesiology!

Availability

Sunday at any time, Saturday at any time, Friday after 6PM, Monday after 6PM, Tuesday after 6PM, Wednesday after 6PM, Thursday after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 25 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

My hobbies include playing tennis, hiking, doing various arts and crafts such as painting and sketching, puzzles, cooking (especially baking), and reading. I am always up to trying new things, so this is a very brief overview of my hobbies and interests! Some of my current goals are to try skiing more and run a half marathon!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!